DISCOVER Azerbaijan

Show news from Azerbaijan Ask a question

Sample programs

Presentation PDF

Azerbaijan is a country in southeastern Europe, situated on the Caspian Sea. To the north the country border Russia, to the west border Armenia and on the south border Iran. Total area of Azerbaijan is 86,600 sq. km. Azerbaijan is located generally in subtropical zone and elongates from the north-west to south-east towards the Caspian Sea. Azerbaijan is a mountain country, where high ridges and plateaus combined with plains and lowlands. About 60% of the Azerbaijan territory is covered by mountains, and 40% by lowland.


Baku is the capital and largest city of Azerbaijan, as well as the largest city on the Caspian Sea and of the Caucasus region. Baku is located 28 metres (92 ft) below sea level, which makes the largest city in the world located below sea level.The city consists of two principal parts: the downtown area and the old Inner City (21.5 ha). The Inner City of Baku along with the Shirvanshah's Palace and Maiden Tower were inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2000. According to the Lonely Planet's ranking, Baku is also among the world's top ten destinations for urban nightlife.